Hardware requirements to set up Pi-Hole - basic basic basic

Hi. I am a total newbie, so please bear with me.

I'm very interested in using Pi-Hole as a network-wide ad blocker at home.

I have a Netgear Nighthawk R7000 router and run Windows 10 on my main PC.

What are my hardware requirements to get this to work? Do I have to buy a Raspberry Pi?

If I have to buy a Pi, how do I hook it up physically to my system?

Thanks for the newbie help.

You can run it on a Pi Zero.

I recommend a Pi Zero W so that you can use the built it WiFi module.

Once you install Pi-hole on the raspberry, connect it to your Nighthawk's WiFi SSID, and use the pi zero's IP as your DNS (on your devices) and you're set.

Easy setup :slight_smile:

As for supported devices and environments, check out Installation on:

https://pi-hole.net/

This is helpful. Thanks.

So it sounds like I have to connect the Pi to the router via WiFi and keep it on at all times, correct?

Do you have any tips for how to secure that connection so someone doesn't find the Pi online and hack in behind my firewall?

Thanks again.

Yes. That is correct. The raspberry pi zero is the size of a matchbox and you can power it from a good USB charger, like a mobile phone charger that provides more than 1A.

It's extremely small footprint and extremely low power consumption. Dirt cheap too. The MicroSD card for it might cost more.

And yes, you'd have to connect it to your WiFI in order for it to resolve DNS queries using upstream DNS servers.

As for security, as long as you don't open any ports to the public from your Nighthawk pointing to the Raspberry (port forwarding), you should be fine. No one would be able to reach it from the "outside", it will stay contained within your LAN.

OK, I look forward to giving it a try. Thanks!

NO NO NO and just NO!!!

I have seen soo many issues because people want to "cheap out" by not buying the official Raspberry Pi powersupply!